Home > Blog Entry > Short Stories that Didn’t Make the Cut

Short Stories that Didn’t Make the Cut

One of the suggestions I picked up from the freelance writers course I did a while ago was to send in stories to competitions. Thinking about that for a few minutes I decided that was an awesome suggestion so I jumped on line and purchased a copy of the Australian Writer’s Marketplace. I really recommend this book to the beginners out there like me. It is a great source for all sorts of things, as well as listing hundreds of writing competitions. I’m not eligible to enter all of them, but I picked a few of the ones that seemed to be for the neophyte.

I’ve sent in about half a dozen stories by now with varying success. I don’t think the children’s story marketplace is my arena; I sent in submissions to two separate competitions and didn’t get a mention. Some of my other stories have been slightly more successful, but I will leave that for a later post.  Following is an entry for one of my alsoran stories.

Categories: Blog Entry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

